Kirindy Forest

 

The Kirindy Forest is a unique dry deciduous forest in western Madagascar north of the coastal town of Morondava.

Where we work

Kirindy

The Kirindy Forest is located within the Menabe-Antimena Protected Area. By working with local communities and rangers and supporting research and education, we aim to do our part to preserve the special features of this area for future generations.

The Kirindy Forest is now the largest remaining dry forest in the region. The dry forests of western Madagascar are among the most threatened habitats in the world. Their existence is therefore of fundamental importance for the conservation of Madagascar’s endemic biodiversity.

Kirindy is part of the Menabe Antimena Protected Area, which is also home to other various biologically very valuable habitats and thus a globally unique biodiversity.

The Kirindy forest and its surroundings

A map of Kirindy. Black line = boundary of the Menabe-Antimena protected area.

About Kirindy

Animals & Plants

The Kirindy Forest is one of three remaining dry forest areas in the region. Kirindy is home to over 200 different species of woody plants; some of which have not been scientifically studied to date. In addition to this remarkable diversity of plants, Kirindy’s dry forests are home to 15 species of amphibians, 54 species of reptiles, and over 80 species of birds. If we add the bird species in the mangroves and the lakes of the Menabe-Antimena Sanctuary, there are 149 bird species. The sanctuary is also home to 30 endemic mammal species. Three of these are locally endemic and are found only in the dry forests of this region. The distribution of the Northern Narrow-striped Mongoose (Mungotictis decemlineata decemlineata) is restricted to the dry forests of the Menabe region. The distribution of the Madagascar Giant Rat (Hypogeomys antimena) and Madame Berthe’s mouse lemur(Microcebus berthae) is restricted to the remaining dry forest of Kirindy and the forest of Ambadira slightly to the north. Microcebus berthae is the smallest primate in the world, weighing just under 35g. In addition to the smallest of all lemurs, now classified as critically endangered, Kirindy is home to seven other endangered lemur species.

Endangered giants

Baobab

The central Menabe region is famous for its baobabs. The Allee de Baobab, a cluster of trees of the genus Andansonia grandidieri, south of Kirindy, is perhaps the most frequently photographed motive in Madagascar. In fact, baobabs are also threatened with extinction.

Unique bird life

Ibis, Coua & Co

The dry forest is also home to a unique birdlife. The Madagascar ibis, as well as several species of silky cuckoo, are among the most conspicuous inhabitants and can be easily observed during a visit to Kirindy.

Ghosts of the forest

Lemurs

Kirindy is home to eight species of lemurs. Six of them are nocturnal and two are diurnal. Madame Berthe’s mouse lemur is the smallest described primate in the world. It is found only in the dry forests of the region and is now threatened with extinction. This is also true for the Verreaux’s sifaka and the red-tailed sportive lemur.

The somewhat different rat

Malagasy giant jumping rat

The Madagascar giant rat (Hypogeomys antimena) is found only in dry forests of the Menabe-Antimena Sanctuary. The animals are nocturnal and live in monogamous pairs. Due to its highly restricted range, the species is critically endangered.

Striped mongooses

Bokiboky

The narrow-striped mongoose is locally endemic to the Menabe region. Almost nothing is known about its distribution outside the Kirindy Forest. The small predators live in small groups and feed mainly on small vertebrates and insects in the leaf litter.

sometimes welcome

Fossa

While an encounter with a fossa is a unique experience for tourists, the loss of the dry forest increasingly leads to conflicts between fossas and the villagers of the region.

About Kirindy

People & Nature

The population in Menabe originally consisted of the Sakalava ethnic group. They mainly kept cattle and sheep and lived from the products of the forest. For the Sakalava, the forest is sacred to a certain extent, and the deceased are buried at sacred sites in the forest. In the last century, the population in the region increasingly mixed due to several waves of immigration from the east and the south. Today, many ethnic groups live in Menabe, including Betsileo, Merina, Tandroy, and other ethnic groups. The waves of migration were mostly due to economic factors and continue to influence the way of life of the people in the region and thus conservation.

Ethnicities

Sakalava & Co

A traditional zebu cart on the avenue de Baobab in Menabe. The population in the region originally consisted of the Sakalava. The Sakalava lived off cattle breeding and forest products. Today, many ethnic groups from other regions of Madagascar live in Menabe.

Livelihood

Forest

The forest not only plays an economic role in the region but also a cultural one. The forest is a spiritual place for the ancestors and the bereaved. The Sakalava use the forest for ceremonies and as a peaceful place for the graves of deceased family members. The picture shows a Sakalava burial site.

Logging

Rosewood

Rosewood and other valuable woods yield large sums of money and are illegally taken from the forests.

Corn & Peanuts

Slash & burn agriculture

Traditional slash-and-burn cultivation of corn and peanuts destroys the ecosystem and does not provide a long-term and sustainable solution for farming. After a short time, the soil is no longer usable. Slash-and-burn agriculture for corn and peanuts has increased dramatically, especially in recent years. Only the majestic baobabs often survive the fires.

CNFEREF & DPZ

Tourism & Research

The Kirindy Forest is a former forest concession administered by the Centre National de Formation, d’Etudes et de Recherches en Environnement et Foresterie (CNFEREF) and open to ecotourism and research. The German  Primate Center (DPZ) operates a research station in the Kirindy Forest. The presence of visitors and researchers contributes significantly to the conservation of the forest and its inhabitants.

Hunting

Wildlife

Especially to the end of the dry season people poach for endangered animals and gather other forest products to make a living.

Projects

CfN in Kirindy and Menabe Antimena

“Little Rangers” &

Environmental education

Little Rangers is an environmental education camp for children and teenagers in the Kirindy Forest.

Learn more

Species conservation & Research

 

Research about the ecology and distribution of species is the basis for conservation.

Learn more

 

Forest protection

& Restoration

We support the management of the Kirindy Forest and the restoration of the  forest for the future.

Learn more

Don’t miss

News

Follow us on Facebook and Co., to stay up to date!

We celebrate 10 years of Chances for Nature

We celebrate 10 years of Chances for Nature

In the middle of the Christmas season, we have another reason to celebrate: 10 years of Chances for Nature! On 15 December 2011, we founded CfN in a PhD student's office at the German Primate Center and can now already look back on a whole decade of work for nature...

Lemurs of the Kirindy Forest

Lemurs of the Kirindy Forest

The Kirindy Forest in Western Madagascar is home to 8 different lemurs. Here you can get to know those species whose survival depends on our local protection measures, since many of them are listed as endangered on the IUCN Red List. This development is due to hunting...

Kirindy-Trockenwald

 

Der Kirindy-Wald ist ein einmaliger laubabwerfender Trockenwald im Westen Madagaskars nördlich der Küstenstadt Morondava.

Wo wir arbeiten

Kirindy

Der Kirindy-Wald liegt innerhalb des Menabe-Antimena-Naturschutzgebietes. Durch Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen Gemeinden und Rangern, und die Unterstützung Forschung und Bildung wollen wir unseren Beitrag leisten, die Besonderheiten dieses Gebietes für nachfolgende Generationen zu bewahren.

Der Kirindy-Wald ist heute der größte verbleibende Trockenwald der Region. Die Trockenwälder im Westen Madagaskars gehören zu den am stärksten bedrohten Habitaten weltweit. Ihr Bestehen hat daher grundlegende Bedeutung für den Erhalt der endemischen Artenvielfalt Madagaskars.

Kirindy ist Teil des Schutzgebiets Menabe Antimena, das noch weitere verschiedene biologisch sehr wertvolle Habitate und damit eine weltweit einzigartige biologische Vielfalt beherbergt. Darunter eines der größten verbleibenden Mangrovengebiete Madagaskars sowie zwei Seen, die vielen Vogelarten und aquatischen Tieren eine Heimat bieten.

Der Kirindy-Wald und seine Umgebung

Eine Karte von Kirindy. Schwarz Linie = Abgrenzung des Menabe-Antimena-Schutzgebietes.

Über Kirindy

Tiere & Pflanzen

Der Kirindy-Wald ist einer von drei verbleibenden Trockenwaldgebieten in der Region. Kirindy beherbergt über 200 verschiedene Arten von Gehölzpflanzen; einige von ihnen sind bis heute nicht wissenschaftlich untersucht. Neben dieser bemerkenswerten Diversität an Pflanzen, beherbergen die Trockenwälder von Kirindy 15 Amphibienarten, 54 Reptilien- und über 80 Vogelarten. Zählt man die Vogelarten in den Mangroven und den Seen des Menabe-Antimena-Schutzgebietes hinzu, kommt man sogar auf 149 Vogelarten. Das Schutzgebiet ist darüber hinaus Heimat für 30 endemische Säugetierarten. Drei von diesen sind lokal endemisch und kommen weltweit nur in den Trockenwäldern der Region vor. Die Verbreitung das Nördlichen Schmalstreifenmungos (Mungotictis decemlineata decemlineata) ist beschränkt auf die Trockenwälder der Region Menabe. Das weltweite Verbreitungsgebiet der Madagaskar-Riesenratte (Hypogeomys antimena) und des Madame Berthe’s Mausmaki (Microcebus berthae) ist beschränkt auf den verbleibenden Trockenwald von Kirindy und den etwas nördlich gelegenen Wald von Ambadira. Microcebus berthae ist mit nur knapp 35g Körpergewicht der kleinste Primat der Welt. Neben dem Kleinsten aller Lemuren, der mittlerweile als stark bedroht eingestuft wird, beherbergt Kirindy noch sieben weitere vom Aussterben bedrohte Lemurenarten.

Bedrohte Riesen

Baobab

Die Region Zentral-Menabe ist berühmt für ihre Affenbrotbäume oder Baobabs. Die Allee de Baobab, eine Ansammlung von Bäumen der Gattung Andansonia grandidieri, südlich von Kirindy, ist vielleicht das häufigste fotografierte Motiv Madagaskars. Tatsächlich sind die Baobabs ebenfalls vom Aussterben bedroht.

Einmalige Vogelwelt

Ibis, Seidenkuckucke & Co

Der Trockenwald ist auch Heimat einer einzigartigen Vogelwelt. Der Mähnenibis, sowie mehrere Arten Seidenkukucke gehören zu den auffälligsten Bewohnern und können bei einem Besuch Kirindys gut beobachtet werden.

Geister des Waldes

Lemuren

Kirindy ist Heimat für acht Lemurenarten. Sechs davon sind nachtaktiv und zwei tagaktiv. Madame Berthe’s Mausmaki ist der kleinste beschriebene Primat der Welt. Er kommt nur in den Trockenwäldern der Region vor und ist heute vom Aussterben bedroht. Dies gilt ebenfalls für den Verreaux’s Sifaka und den Rotschwanzwieselmaki 

Die etwas andere Ratte

Madagaskar-Riesenratte

Die Madagaskar-Riesenratte (Hypogeomys antimena) kommt nur in Trockenwäldern des Menabe-Antimena-Schutzgebietes vor. Die Tiere sind nachtaktiv und leben in monogamen Paaren. Durch ihr stark beschränktes Verbreitungsgebiet ist die Art stark vom Aussterben bedroht.

Gestreifte Raubtiere

Bokiboky

Der Nördliche Schmalstreifenmungo ist lokal endemisch in der Region Menabe. Über die Verbreitung außerhalb des Kirindy-Waldes ist so gut wie nichts bekannt. Die kleinen Raubtiere leben in kleinen Gruppen und ernähren sich hauptsächlich von kleinen Wirbeltieren und Insekten in der Laubstreu.

(Un)gern gesehen

Fossa

Während die Begegnung mit einer Fossa für Touristen ein einmaliges Erlebnis ist, führt der Verlust des Trockenwaldes zunehmend zu Konflikten zwischen Fossas und den Dorfbewohnern der Region.

Über kirindy

Mensch & Natur

Die Bevölkerung in Menabe bestand ursprünglich aus der ethnischen Gruppe der Sakalava. Diese betrieben überwiegend Rinder- und Schafhaltung und lebten von Produkten des Waldes. Für die Sakalava ist der Wald zu einem gewissen Grad heilig und die Verstorbenen werden an heiligen Stätten im Wald bestattet. Im letzten Jahrhundert vermischte sich die Bevölkerung in der Region zunehmend aufgrund mehrerer Einwanderungswellen aus dem Osten und dem Süden. Heute leben viele ethnische Gruppen in Menabe, darunter Betsileo, Merina, Tandroy und andere Ethnien. Die Migrationswellen waren meist durch wirtschaftliche Faktoren geprägt und beeinflussen bis heute die Lebensweise der Menschen in der Region und damit auch den Naturschutz.

Ethnien

Sakalava & Co

Ein traditioneller Zebukarren an der Allee de Baobab in Menabe. Die Bevölkerung in der Region bestand ursprünglich aus den Sakalava. Die Sakalava lebten von der Viehzucht und Produkten des Waldes. Heute leben viele Ethnien aus anderen Regionen Madagaskars in Menabe. 

Lebensgrundlage

Wald

Der Wald spielt nicht nur eine wirtschaftliche Rolle in der Region, sondern ebenso eine kulturelle. Der Wald ist spiritueller Ort der Ahnen und Hinterbliebenen. Die Sakalava nutzen den Wald für Zeremonien und als friedlichen Ort für die Grabstätten der verstorbenen Familienmitglieder. Das Bild zeigt eine Grabstätte der Sakalava.

Abholzung

Palisander

Palisander und andere wertvolle Hölzer bringen viel Geld und werden illegal aus den Wäldern entnommen. 

Mais & Erdnüsse

Wanderfeldwirtschaft

 Traditionelle Brandrodung zum Anbau von Mais und Erdnüssen zerstört das Ökosystem und liefert keine langfristige und nachhaltige Lösung für den Ackerbau. Nach kurzer Zeit ist der Boden nicht mehr nutzbar. Die Brandrodung für Mais und Erdnüsse hat insbesondere in den letzten Jahren noch einmal stark zugenommen. Einzig die majestätischen Baobabs überdauern oft das Feuer.   

CNFEREF & DPZ

Tourismus & Forschung

Der Kirindy-Wald ist eine ehemalige Forstkonzession, die durch das Centre National de Formation, d’Etudes et de Recherches en Environnement et Foresterie (CNFEREF) verwaltet und heute für Ökotourismus und Forschung genutzt wird. Das Deutsche Primatenzentrum (DPZ) eine Forschungsstation im Kirindy-Wald. Die Präsenz von Besuchern und Forschern trägt wesentlich zum Schutz des Waldes und seiner Bewohner bei. 

Jagd

Wildtiere

Insbesondere gegen Ende der Trockenzeit machen die Menschen Jagd auf bedrohte Arten und sammeln andere Produkte des Waldes, um ihr Auskommen zu sichern.

Projekte

CfN in Kirindy und Menabe Antimena

“Little Rangers” &

Umweltbildung

Little Rangers ist ein Umweltbildungscamp für Kinder und Jugendliche im Kirindy-Wald.

Mehr erfahren

Artenschutz & Forschung

 

Forschung zur Ökologie und Verbreitung von Arten ist Grundlage für Naturschutzmaßnahmen.

Mehr erfahren

 

Waldschutz

& Restaurierung

Wir unterstützen das Management des Kirindy-Waldes und die Restaurierung des Waldes für die Zukunft. 

Mehr erfahren

Nicht verpassen

Aktuelles

Folge uns auf Facebook und Co., um auf dem laufenden zu bleiben!

Waldbrände: Der Kirindy-Wald in akuter Gefahr

Waldbrände: Der Kirindy-Wald in akuter Gefahr

Der verbleibende Trockenwald der Aire Protégée Menabe Antimena (APMA), einschließlich des Kirindy-Waldes/CNFEREF, ist stark bedroht. Ein großes Feuer, das Anfang Oktober 2021 entlang der an den Kirindy-Wald angrenzenden Nationalstraße ausgebrochen ist, hat in den...